Eat Outside The Box

Recently I found myself back in the town of my alma mater, Bloomsburg University.  I left here with a lot of great memories and experiences, many of which I would like to relive.  But I find myself re-imagining the times and memories of one place that apparently had a huge impact on me. 

Bloomin’ Bagels was a breakfast and lunch venue with two locations, one on either side of town, so it was always easily accessible.  Because of my love for bagels I would eat here for breakfast, and many times lunch, everyday for months at a time.  My roommate and I even developed a routine by the third year; whoever had the earlier class that day would stop on their way home to pick up the other a bagel sandwich.  I think he caught on to my 6pm class schedule when I began to wake up to the ham egg and cheeses bouncing off my forehead mid snore.  Bloomin’ Bagels was my meal plan.

However, because of this routine I eventually stopped thinking about what to order and systematically got the same thing almost every time.  The most common being ham or sausage, egg, and cheese on a cinnamon raisin or everything bagel; this was my comfort zone.  I don’t think I even looked at the menu for years.  My bagel selection became a habit!

Late in my senior year I made an effort to always try something new.  To break out of my ‘comfort zone’ in hopes to discover something new, maybe even something exciting.

So, as simple as it may sound, the next time I ventured into Bloomin’ Bagel I looked at the menu.  There, in big bold print, in front of my face every day was Steak Sandwiches.  So I asked for one with egg on it.  The steak was piled high and so juicy that it baffled me how I missed out on this sandwich for so long.  For years I overlooked this delectable treat because of my thoughtless habit. 

Six years after graduating, now back in Bloomsburg, and the only thing I can think about is this steak sandwich. The anticipation was killing me.  I was so excited I actually got nervous and started to s-s-s-stutter as I ordered it! 

But finally………

The Steak Egg and Cheese

So delicious, to the last bite, just how I remembered it.  

 

Now you know I wasn’t leaving here without getting one for the road, but I wanted to maintain the spirit of trying something new.

Wouldn’t you know it; right above the Steak listed Hot Pastrami!

“Pastrami and egg sandwich, please?” I asked the sweet lady.

“Hot pastrami?” She replied.

“Yes, please,” I said politely

“Would you like Swiss cheese with that?”

“Yes.”

“Fried onions?”

“Yes.”

“Spicy mustard?”

“Yes?!”

“On a bagel?”  (Did she just ask me that?)

“Of course,” I smiled to her, “Everything bagel, please. Oh and can you put a slice of tomato on that?”

Behold…….

The Hot Pastrami, Egg, Swiss Cheese, Tomato, Fried Onion, and Spicy Mustard on an Everything Bagel!!!!!!

(Does this excite you as much as it does me?)

 

As human beings we are creatures of habit. There is comfort and efficiency with our repetitive actions.  We are attracted to the certainty of knowing exactly what we’re going to get, where we’re going, or where things are.  For better or worse, this is what drives our habitual actions which become second nature over time.  Ever arrive at work and think back during your commute, but not remember taking that turn or driving down that road?  We are not engaged in these actions and as a result we fail to notice the world around us. 

Here is my challenge to you.  Look at your daily habits and consider breaking out of your comfort zone.  Ask yourself when the last time was that you tried something different.  Try getting coffee at the local shop instead of Wawa or Starbucks.  Or maybe it’s as simple as saying “Yes” when somebody asks if you want to do something.  Suck it up and go outside in the pouring summer rain instead of hiding indoors (but don’t get struck by lighting).  You’ll be surprised to discover how exhilarating this is. 

If I go to restaurant and have never had an item on their menu, you better bet that is exactly what I’m going to get.  A family friend of mine always said “variety is the spice of life.”  Find your Pastrami Sandwich!

Email me at breakfastjones@ymail.com or comment below and tell me about your experience, no matter how big or small.

About breakfastjones

Just your everyday joe who adores many things in life especially my two beautiful children, amazing wife, & breakfast! I strive to live life fully and experience my greatest potential by challenging myself & pushing my limits. I am totally grateful for the love and support of my family & friends. Lets EAT!!!

4 Responses to “Eat Outside The Box”

  1. I kind of want to drive to Bloomsburg for the Steak Egg and Cheese…..

  2. Great Post! I know I can get stuck in the same ‘ole breakfast routine and this is a great reminder to get out there and try something new in the morning…at some point you’ll have to get down to Fred’s Breakfast there’s a whole menu you’ve never tried!

    • I checked out their menu and I do indeed have some hot plates to try. If you get a chance can you post a link to their website here?

      Also, what are the chances he’ll let me behind the cooker? I’ve got some eats of my own to introduce to the gang!

Leave a Reply

