Log Cabin Cafe – Frisco, CO

Colorado 2nd Breakfast stop:  The Log Cabin Café

Way, way, way too cold outside to go snowboarding today.  On the mountain we were looking at -31 degrees.  That’s more than 60 degrees BELOW freezing!  I’m a cold weather guy but that is ridiculous. So I thought I’d let my wife and our friend sleep in for once.  After all we were away from the kids and on vacation so taking it easy for the day would be nice…….then my tummy began to grumble. 

 “Were only in Colorado for four more days,” I yelled, “we can’t sleep through the week.  Let’s go eat!”   7:30 is sleeping in right?

 Off to the Log Cabin Café…………

 CLICK ON PIC TO VIEW VIDEO

So on day two Wife Ashley, being the creative culinary designer that she is, created a delectable omelet consisting of sun-dried tomatoes, paper-jack cheese, bacon and topped with fresh sliced avocado.  I thought the unusual request for sundried tomatoes was in great combination to the other ingredients.  It was served with a side biscuit, in lieu of toast, with the option of either strawberry or blueberry jam.  From what I could see of her visual enjoyment this may have been the highlight of her breakfast. 

So lets segway the sweet jam to my side of grits which is a great option to replace tons of butter usually required to make grits edible.  I choose grits in spirit of the southern trout and eggs breakfast.  Always trying something new is the name of the game…….I thought this fit the bill.  I’m a fan of fish, but for breakfast?  Can’t be any worse than the tuna fish and eggs I make back home I thought (more on that in later blogs).  This fish and eggs with cajun seasoning was cooked just to my liking, served with a side of cornbread I found myself saying “y’all stay warm now” as I was leaving.

J9, our Coloradian friend went with the house named ‘Log Cabin Omlette’ consisting of  Ham, Green Chiles, Cheddar, Onions and a Side Of Salsa.  She felt it was your average omelet, however, the salsa tasted fresh and delicious.

My recommendation would be to opt for a create-your-own omelet.  Fresh avocado, sundried tomatoes, and salsa being important ingredients.  And instead of toast ask for the cornbread.  See Ya’ll next time!

Log Cabin Cafe – http://www.log-cabin-cafe.com/home/index.php

About breakfastjones

Just your everyday joe who adores many things in life especially my two beautiful children, amazing wife, & breakfast! I strive to live life fully and experience my greatest potential by challenging myself & pushing my limits. I am totally grateful for the love and support of my family & friends. Lets EAT!!!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

